237.130 Assessment 3 Task #2

For my creative aspect of this assessment, I want to post something that will make the public question the women in advertisements and the way they are being objectified and portrayed. I am considering adding stickers to current ad’s around the city to either cover up women who aren’t wearing many clothes or put a women’s head onto an image where a man looks strong and in power. Other artists who alter public images and advertisements include the 82 artists from 19 countries who put over 600 advertisements up in Paris protesting against large corporations.

corporate-sponsorship-ads-environmentalist-cop21-brandalism-paris-29__700.jpg

While going for a walk around the city to see what kind of ad’s were around and investigating what alterations I could slyly make to them to hopefully help the public recognise sexism and double standards I noticed that this may be a bit difficult as the only possible images were in very public places and I didn’t want to get in trouble. Another option came to me as I was out investigating. Instead of altering found advertisements I could create my own collage from the worst of past ad’s and their use of objectification. All the images together would create a great piece perfect for portraying visual activism. In chapter 7 Mirzoeff talks about signs and their ability to reach the public in ways art in a gallery couldn’t.

Leave a comment